Drag Racing Card

I make birthday cards for the coworkers at my husband’s work.  They all sign the inside of each other’s cards and it just makes their Bday fun!  Most of the employees are men, which is a bit of challenge for me!  It even makes it harder when they are friends too. LOL  This card is for a young man that grew up best friends with my son as well. He served in our US troops and I really want his cards to be special.  He loves drag racing and I googled for some line art images online, but didn’t see anything that I really liked, but I did see video game web shots and I tried to duplicate that in paper! Hopefully I can acquire some racing stamps, which would be much simpler to create from.

This card is an 8  1/2″ x 11″ card, it’s 2 pieces of cardstock adhered together at the top, and the back piece was scored @ 3/8″ to make the hinge so the card can open easily. I needed this big space to get the Racing Tree and the perspective from inside the car. As you can imagine, these big cards make a BIG impression.

Supplies Used:
Misc. card stock. Tickets from Tim Holtz The Journey, RACE from Martha Stewarts Clear Mongorams Frames, DAY from Karen Foster game day, prestage-stage-skull flag all from $1.00 alpha sets from Michael’s. Inks: Black & White StazOn. Versamarker and Zig photo marker to enhance the tag stamps. Spellbinders circle dies for dashboard dials. Punches 1/4″, 1/2″, 3/4″ for the lights on the Tree. Dashboard was hand cut.

Leave a Reply

