Papertreyink August 2012 Blog Hop Challenge

Hi Crafters! I never get to do the Papertreyink Blog Hop challenges. This is an 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ Card. I scored the front at 1/8th inch intervals all across the front, then used the envelope piece to score the diagonal lines.

I was inspired by the Elephant and I made him using the PTI Favor It #6 Box die. By trimming the handle off and turning it upside down I have the body of the elephant, I did round the area where I cut bottom of the box and flaps off. With a 1 1/2″ circle punch I accentuated the belly and legs by taking a bite out of the space between where the handle used to be, this cut piece could be used as the ear, but I just wanted something bigger. I used the handle to make the trunk and cut the end of it with a 1/4″ handheld circle punch. The ears are from SU’s ornament punch and the tail is from the first bite I took out of the belly/leg area that wasn’t deep enough.

When I cut the leafy border to get the trim piece for the pedestal that the elephant is standing on, I realized what a neat negative space is left on both sides of the die, so I used this to make the fringe at the top of the card (this was a piece of white CS that I used SU’s Very Vintage jumbo wheel on with Chocolate Chip dye ink), this negative cut reminds me of tent fringe. LOL Thanks for joining me. I had fun with this challenge. The spray of water is from the Quickutz cake die, it’s the curly que thingie for the top of the cake.

Supplies:
Cardstock, ivory, blue, yellow, black and misc. printed scraps. Inks: StazOn Black, SU Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Crumb Cake. Stamps: PTI In the Meadow (thank you greeting), SU Very Vintage jumbo wheel. Dies: PTI Favor it #6 Box, Leafy Border, Spellbinders Illumination Charm 1, Cuttlebug Square(the elephants blanket trimmed fringe with small scissors and curved the top to match the elephants back), QK cake. Embossing folders: Tim Holtz Alterations Woodgrain, SU’s Square Lattice. Misc. Punches: SU Modern Label, Decorative Label, 1 1/2″ Circle. Misc: MS score board, homemade spritz in a brown sparkly color, blue felt.

20120825-203810.jpg

20120825-203817.jpg

20120825-203823.jpg

20120825-203829.jpg

20120825-203835.jpg

20120825-204155.jpg

20120825-221813.jpg

20120825-221830.jpg

4 thoughts on “Papertreyink August 2012 Blog Hop Challenge

Leave a Reply

