October Name Tags

Hi Crafters! I hope you are all having a lovely Fall. We are enjoying crisp sunny days and the leaves are just starting to turn.

I have a video to share on how (click on October Name Tags)October’s Name Tags were made for Card Class. Enjoy!

20121016-114545.jpg

A sweet treat from Susan at Card Class. Isn’t this so cute! I missed all of the details, but she said she used a punch, I’m guessing it’s a fabby punch all over the page kind, since it was punched on a vertical piece of card stock.

20121016-115437.jpg

Some Fall Goodies for my 2 Girls, my daughter and daughter-in-law, with those Sizzix Owl #2 owls(so fun), the hearts were from a Sizzix originals die and the string is cotton Sugar N Cream yarn. The little photo holder owls and owl trinket trays came from Michael’s $1 bin way back in the summer. I nab these little things, knowing I will put them with other goodies for a Fun and Inexpensive treat. Katie got the orange trinket owl tray and Amber got a green one, since green is her favorite color. 😉

20121016-115614.jpg They each got a set of these wood pumpkins, that I made several years ago when I was going to the bird fair in October. Who knew bird people would not buy Fall decorations? It was a win win for Katie and Amber. LOL I still owe Amber a Crow that is somewhere in the attic!

And a quick pic of my front porch and my Katie Crow. Years ago, when my kids were still at home and we had passes to Silver Dollar City, they had these adorable scarecrows for sale. I think they were about $30, and I said to myself, I can make this. So, I did and she graces my front porch every year. I painted her face in the likeness of my daughter, at the time I made it, so Katie was somewhere around 4th or 5th grade. The Katie Crow is also dressed in some of Katie’s clothes and shoes. I used raffia for the hair, the head is a white jean leg stitched and stuffed and painted with acrylic paints, a giant plastic spoon is the spine and I have to prop her just right so she doesn’t fall over. LOL The arms, legs and body are made from 2 pairs of tights, stuffed with fabric scraps and the illusive single socks that have forever lost their mates. The stuffed tights are tied to the large plastic spoon inside with the extra foot end of the tights (no need to stuff the whole thing). The cuff of the overalls is safety pinned to the shoe laces, so they stay together nicely and more life like. The cuffs of the sweat shirt jacket are sewed to some yarn, so I can bring them in close together and tie them to the pumpkin handle. When it gets closer to Halloween, I turn the pumpkin so it’s face is showing.

20121016-122036.jpg

Leave a Reply

