Deer Hunter’s Birthday Card

This is an 8 1/2″ x 11″ card, the back is scored (L) @ 3/8″ and adhered with ATG double sided tape. I use this Sizzix Reindeer die on so many cards! And I trim it down to take some of the elegance off of it. I take the round nose off, and I trim the bottom of the hooves to make it look more realistic and here I also cut off the antlers for the doe. The stamps used as brush behind the deer is one of Inkadinkado’s new sets called, Branches 65-32007, that is suppose to work with the stamping gear thingie. I loved these branches. They are stamped in SU’s Crushed Curry, Pumpkin Pie, Dusty Durango, Old Olive and Close to Coco, in that order starting with the lightest color. I also used the foliage stamp from Papertrey Ink’s Garden Variety stamp set, I use this stamp on all of my deer cards! LOL The sentiment is from Hero Arts 4×6 set CL371 on the die cut banner from the Stampin’UP! Petal Cone die.

20130117-221936.jpg

I used the Sizzix Scallop Pop Up die twice on the inside and trimmed it with a Spellbinders Circle die that was closest in size to allow me to cut off the scallops, since this is a Man’s card. I adhered one right side up and the other upside down, to give the illusion of different hill heights. I also used a smaller Spellbinders circle die to cut the inner mechanism of the Sizzix pop up portion to make it look more hill like. I also used a piece of a stamp from a Crafty Secrets stamp set, the one with the little girl holding that large bouquet of flowers called, Bouquets of Joy, the first one I got was faulty, where the polymer stamps were uneven and JoAnn’s replaced it and told me to toss the bad one, but I don’t throw anything away! So I trimmed the bottom of the bouquet and the smaller clumps of grass are the stems of the bouquet turned upside down and stamped as grass.

20130117-222003.jpg

The small deer silhouettes are from Papertrey Ink’s, In The Meadow die set, it also has a matching stamp set, but I didn’t use it here. I used quite a few tree dies from, Hero Arts/Sizzix Reindeer in Sweaters Stamp and Die combo set, Cuttlebug Pine trees 2×2 and trees from the Snowman 2×2 winter set. I am rarely very happy with my cards, but I really liked how this one turned out.

20130117-222019.jpg

This is how I trim the Sizzix Reindeer. The deer on the left is the original die cut. The deer on the right has been trimmed, nose and hooves.

20130117-224452.jpg

Leave a Reply

