Onesie Stamping with Fabric Stamps

Hi Crafters! In the Fall, I stamped a package of Carter’s Onesies with some Plaid craft paint and Plaid foam fabric stamps. You can purchase acrylic paint colors you need, or you can mix what you have, like I did. Either way, it’s a fun craft to do and it allowed me to make onesies that would match the little baby pants I had on hand.

Typically you would wash any new fabric item to remove sizing that is added to the fabric, but I wanted to save myself a step and I washed mine when they were done, just to make sure they were nice and soft for baby to wear. I love how they turned out. Since I did not pre-wash the onesies, they were still nice and smooth, which is easier to stamp on. But if you have something you want to stamp on that has already been washed, you could simply iron it first and even use starch if you wanted to.

You will see that I ended up making a tape handle for my stamps that came mounted on a very thin acrylic backing, so it was easier to hold on to and kept my fingers out of the paint.
Part 1 Snowflake Onesie

Stamping the second layer of the Snowflake onsie.
Part 2 of the Snowflake Onesie

The third Onesie, was a Fall theme. The leaf stamp used was a stamp my daughter made in school when she was 12 (LOL) and I knew she would recognize it. The Acorn was from a foam block that had Thanksgiving icons on it. The berries were stamped with the blunt end of a fine point sharpie marker, since my leaves and acorn were not centered, I felt I needed those berries for balance. I also used a fine paint brush to added the dark brown paint to the top of the acorn in a criss cross pattern, outline and as accents on the acorn. I also stamped a frog and the leaf on the cuff area of the sleeves.

20130120-191511.jpg

The last Onesie was stamped in a Christmas theme with Holly leaves and Berries. I ended up cutting the stamp apart by the time I got to stamping cards with the extra paint.
Christmas Holly Onsie

Cards made using the left over paint from the onesie projects. The acrylic paint leaves a very matte finish, which I think is very interesting for a different look.
Cards stamped with Acrylic Paint

I hung the Onesies up to dry on the stove hood with the tape used to hold them down to the counter.

20130120-233323.jpg

To set the paint, I ironed the onesies.
Iron the Onesies

The onesies when they came out of the washer.

20130121-000825.jpg

The onesies when they came out of the dryer. Eeeeeee! (happy sound) LOL

20130121-000947.jpg

6 thoughts on “Onesie Stamping with Fabric Stamps

  1. This is such a cute idea. I have been thinking of stamping on fabric. Perhaps it is time to give it a try.
    Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Heather,
      With your creative vision, you will have so much fun. I love the foam stamps, but I have even made stamps from mouse pads and scraps of wood for the block. lol I should do a post on that! You can even make your own foam stamps from a couple of layers of fun foam and dies or free hand and your free hand shapes are wonderful. I am so honored that you have been to my blog. (((((Many crafty hugs))))

  2. Hi Paulete,

    Thank you for your blog and videos!

    I want to ask, how long does the acrylic paint stay on the fabric? Let’s say… after 5 times you wash the onesie will the paint be damage? Will it crack or peel?

    What does it give better results, thin or tick layer?

    Thank you!!!!

    • Thanks Priscilla,
      I tend to be heavy handed and like a decent layer of acrylic paint, but that also may cause a messy outline of the fabric stamped image, but you can always use a fine paint brush to smooth out the edges. In my experience, the paint stays on forever. I used to paint on furniture and walls with acrylic paint and I ALWAYS get some on my clothes! Once I’ve washed and dried them, it’s there for good, that’s how I got started stamping on fabrics with it. Even if I saw the paint and rinsed and scrubbed on my stained clothes, it’s almost impossible to remove it, especially deep colors like red or navy. Over the years I’ve stamped bath towels, wash rags, denim button up shirt, t-shirt, table cloth and even flat sheet converted into curtains. They are all still going strong. I’ve never had it peel. Of course, flat fabric works best. Towels and wash rags have the nubs from the tericloth and it’s a bit harder to get good coverage, may take stamping over 2 or 3 times before allowing to dry but still fun. This craft works best if you wash and dry a brand new item first to remove the sizing, starch, etc. In one craft we did years ago where we used real leaves in the Fall and dipped them in several colors of acrylic paint and used the leaves as stamps themselves, those did crack after repeated machine washing, but we’d used too much paint. And they were outlined with glitter paint and it cracked too! So if you use really thick layer, it may crack. If you use a foam brush to apply the paint and pat it onto the stamp, you should be fine. Maybe try it on a used T-shirt or pillow case just to see how it does for you? It’s a great way to salvage a T-shirt with a stain on it. ;). I’ve done that before too. Hope this helps.

  3. Have fun! I love stamping on fabric it’s quicker than sewing. The thick foam fabric stamps work well. I’m so tempted by them when I’m shopping at Michael’s arts and crafts. Even though I’m there to buy card making stamps and dies!! You can even make your own stamps with any die shapes you already have at home. ;). I prefer 2 to 3 layers of fun foam shapes glued together to mimic the fabric stamp thickness and will glue them to a wood base or a few layers of cereal box or even some clear acrylic packaging.

Leave a Reply

