Water Color with Papertrey Ink

Hi Crafters! It’s Papertrey Ink’s 6th Anniversary and the Count Down to the February release. Today’s contest is Water Color.

This is the first card I made. I took SU’s Hello Doily, first inking the stamp in Stampin’UP Crumb cake and then spritzing with water, I laid the water color paper on the stamp that was adhered to my glass cutting mat. Then I used an aqua painter dipped in watered down Crumb Cake and painted over some of the image. I dipped my largest aqua painter in watered down Crumb Cake ink and slopped it onto the edges of the doily image. I love how this part turned out. I dried this step with my heat tool. Using stamp sets from PTI’s Iconic Images (the largest star/flower image, first I stamped it with the back of the stamp over the doily image with SU Pixie Pink rock-n-rolled in Rich Razzleberry, then stamped the right way with Rich Razzleberry and rewetted the edges of the flowers with a wet aqua painter dipped in watered down RR ink to smear the ink more. The stems were stamped with a ric rac image from The Paper Studio Stampabilities Stitches in SU Old Olive and smeared more OOlive watered down ink up and down the stems with a wet aqua painter. The leaves were stamped with the scooping end of the trowel from PTI’s Garden Variety stamp set and smeared over with a wet aqua painter with watered down SU Old Olive ink. The sentiment is from Iconic Images too and it was done in Ranger’s Archival Black ink. The water color panel was mounted on SU’s Rich Razzleberry card base. I’m not thrilled with this card, but it’s growing on me. LOL And I like it better than the second attempt!!

20130212-204314.jpg

2 thoughts on “Water Color with Papertrey Ink

  1. I love your watercolor card! I think the watercolor cards are the prettiest of all…maybe because if you ever use watercolor, you truly appreciate the time and efford that went into that card. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

