A Birthday Card for My Man

Hi Crafters! My husband had his birthday in February. We had a quiet one this year, since I did a big party last year for his 50th. Our Fabulous daughter in law made dinner and dessert and it was just perfect. I wasn’t going to make a card because I just didn’t have time and I’m baby sitting our grand baby who just cut her 2 top teeth. So, it’s been WWF smack down almost every day, while she wrestled through it and I tried to keep her entertained. LOL This is about a 30 minute card and I got this “afternoon muse” stamp set for Christmas and I think a balloon ride would be so fun. So, this hot air balloon has been on my mind. And I said to myself just make some balloons and clouds and it worked out. I’ve learned that if a thought comes to mind, I just need to run with it. If I try to do something else, it just doesn’t turn out that good. Not that this is good, but you know what I mean, if you create cards. Especially, in a pinch of a 30 minutes before dinner, kind of thing!

As I was playing around with the arrangement of the balloons, it seemed a bit boring, so I used the Hero Arts Sentiments CL371, Happy Birthday, to stamp a background in SU’s Crushed Curry yellow ink. The balloons were stamped on Blue, Green and Orange colored card stock with Ranger’s Archival Jet Black ink and cut out. They seemed so flat, so I stamped on the tops again and cut them out, then applied them with poster foam to raise them up a bit. I should have gone for a 3rd layer of some sort, but there simply was not time. The balloon tops were sponged with some black ink from an old ink pad, which does not really show up in these photos.

20130309-195328.jpg

The clouds were punched with a Fiskars Medium cloud punch using blue card stock and sponged with SU’s Pacific Point ink. I also stamped the black birthday greeting where it seemed to fit well.

20130309-195340.jpg

Supplies Used:

Misc. Card Stock. Stampin’UP! inks in Crushed Curry and Pacific Point. Ranger Archival Jet Black ink. Scotch Poster Foam and ATG general double sided adhesive.

Leave a Reply

