March 2013 Name Tags

Hi Crafters!! Spring has Sprung. LOL I really waffled around with this month’s tag. I usually have an idea and just run with it last minute. But I’m very limited on St. Patty’s Day stamps, plus Easter is in this month this year too! I know, what a lot of Blarney! LOL So, I looked it up for the next year and it will be in April as usual, so I will represent Easter on the April tag.

Happy Spring and Happy St. Patty’s Day!

This is such a fun technique and I love the results that it gives. Stamp images to be colored in Memento Tux Black ink, then color them in with your alcohol markers. Then go over the colored areas with the alcohol blending solution to fade the marker color. It dissolves and blends the colors.

**If you are an allergic person, please be careful with the Alcohol Blending Solution. I had an allergic reaction to getting it on my hands while filling the pen and cleaning the nibs on the paper I was working on, for a couple of hours, and probably breathing the fumes too. I obviously did not read the warning on the label, so I am warning you. 😉 I would have gone into full blown hives, but I have learned my warning signs and immediately took some Benadryl and stopped it.

I forgot to color in the lady bug on video, but I used the melon and the orange for the body and I had to make a dot for the head with the black marker. The stamp shows a head for her, but there is not one on the stamp. Please refer to the finished tag

So….Let’s get to it. (CLICK Here for Video)

Supplies Used:
Bic Mark It alcohol markers in the following colors:
Ocean View Blue for the bird house.
Cloud Nine Grey for the roof and floor.
Misty Blue for the pole.
Key Lime for the leaves and dark parts of the frog.
Yellow Blaze for the high lights on the frog.
Summer Melon, Sunset Orange and Rambunctious Red for the flower pot.
Summer Melon, Sunset Orange and Tuxedo Black for the lady bug.
Honey Brown for the mound of dirt the frog is sitting on.

Ranger’s alcohol blending solution put into their Adirondack alcohol ink fillable pen, and Archival Black ink for the sentiment and Month abbrev.
Stampin’UP Old Olive classic dye ink for the shamrocks.
Memento Tuxedo Black ink (for coloring with alcohol markers).

Stamps: Provo Craft stamp set-garden 35-9359 (bird house in a flower pot),
Stampin’UP’s Toy box (frog),
$1.00 clear set from JoAnn’s for St. Patty’s Day (I trimmed the line of shamrocks to get 3 of them and also trimmed the scroll and day from the bottom of the sentiment stamp for more versatility),
Stampabilities Months of the Year 251280.

20130405-112756.jpg

Leave a Reply

