31st Wedding Anniversary, Ship Card

Hi Crafters!! June 26 was my wedding anniversary of 31 years. I bought him a hunting camera to double as his Father’s Day and Anniversary gift, he was thrilled and I’m so glad. I’m not that good at shopping for manly tools. haha Here is what he got me, a “try scuba” lesson, that was so cool:
20130625-221410.jpg

20130625-221704.jpg

The card I made my husband was inspired by an AccuCut Craft die called, Ship’s wheel. I wish I had the die, and it is so time consuming to piece meal and I’m not even sure it was worth it in the end. LOL It certainly could have been better. My husband is so gracious, that he loves it anyway. When I saw this die in the 2009-2010 catalog, my sentiment came to my mind instantly, Come Sail Away With Me… I knew I had to make a Captain’s wheel and what is wheel without a boat? What is a boat without a sail? What’s a sail without a Mast? Yes, it just snowballs like that!! Not thrilled with my sail, but at midnight, I was not going to worry about it and rolled on.

Front of wheel:

20130625-215515.jpg
Back of wheel:

20130625-215631.jpg

First I cut my circle frames by taping 2 Spellbinders circle dies together (Standard Circles Set, Largest die and 3rd one down cut together, smallest die and 3rd one up cut together, taped to card stock with painters tape. I already knew I could use the Sizzix Lattice die oval throw away pieces for the decorative shape on steering poles of the wheel. Then I scouted some alpha dies and remembered the Papertreyink word dies and found the shaped I needed in the “o” of holiday from Wonderful Words Holiday dies set, for the tips of steering handles. This shape could have been just a smidge bigger, but I felt it worked fine. I cut the bar pieces at 1/4 inch wide by 4 inches long and ended up cutting them in half at 2 inches (8 pieces in total of each shape), sponged all of these little intricate pieces with SU’s chocolate chip dye ink and glued them to the wheel with glossy accents.

For inspiration of the boat I relied on my 4×4 Quickutz die of a ship. When ever I make patterns for anything, I take a piece of paper and rough sketch an outline, then fold the paper in half right down the center and use the side I like better to cut the whole image, while folded. Then you can trim and make adjustments from there. I went through 2 pieces of scratch paper to get it right.

I used a Tim Holtz wood grain embossing folder to impress the whole ship from the top edge and from the bottom edge, until the whole thing was filled with embossing. The only sensible place to make the fold, was the bottom of the card, this card is 16 1/4 inches tall by 10 1/2 inches wide. LOL
The waves are made with a Sizzix strip die called Giant Scallops, but I used the piece left over after you cut the scallop strip, it makes great waves. The dark blue waves were made with a Martha Stewart edge punch (? one of the very first ones). Embossing pen smeared on my finger tips and swiped across the sail and embossed with copper embossing powder and the heat gun. The mast is a 2 inch wide strip, scored at 1 inch and folded in half with glossy accents to hold it shut, it was glued and stapled to the back of the card, the captain’s wheel is glued inside the front page of the card. A quickutz shell die from the Relax set was used at the top of the Mast, for lack of a better thing to use. LOL
Inspirations and pieces:

20130625-220020.jpg
The whole ship:

20130625-220826.jpg

Leave a Reply

