A Very Cool Book/Box Card

Hi Crafters!! This is a very cool paper book that you can put goodies inside. My daughter asked me for a fare well card for a co-worker going to study LAW. I searched my stamps and couldn’t find anything that suited me for a giant card, which was another part of the request. But I did have a link to a blog Here by Wenche and it was brilliant for this card request. Wenche’s instructions are in centimeters and my Fiskars paper trimmer does have them on it, so I did the best I could and it turned out okay. LOL

I cut all of my pieces in water color paper per Wenche’s recommendation. My measurements in inches: Cut 2 @ 4 x 8-7/16 (these are the top and bottom walls of the box , Cut 2 @ 4-3/4 x 8-7/16 (these are the right and left walls of the box. ***Now that I’m typing this out, I think I’ve made a mistake in the construction of my book/Box. LOL I scored all 4 of my wall pieces in the (L) landscape mode @ 3/8 inch and accordion folded them. And it’s probably supposed to be done in the (P) portrait mode, which would give a longer more shallow box. My box was very springy!! haha And hard to assemble the walls. No Wonder. This is exactly why some patterns don’t work out, I believe that pattern writers are often times, not the crafter of the actual item. If they were, the patterns would always work. Okay, I’m going to continue my instructions, just how I made my box, mistakes and all because I don’t have time to try it in (P) mode and see if it works out. I did have to do a bit of trimming and my measurements here were adjusted, so yours should work out fine.

I sponged the Mountains on both sides of each scored piece before assembling them. Glue the corners together, starting with a long wall and a short wall. I used Glossy Accents in each hill and valley while looking at Wenche’s picture tutorial to get the top and bottom corners started right, so they were the same on each corner. Make the Cover of the book, cut 1 piece of water color paper @ 10-3/4 x 5-1/8 inches. Score @ 4-1/8, 6-5/8 inches (P). I did not do an extra spine, but you could if you want. I inked the cover with several SU dye based ink pads from light to darks, starting with Crushed Curry (yellow), Crumb Cake (beige), Close to Coco (brown) and maybe a little bit of Chocolate Chip (dark brown). The LAW letters were stamped in Ranger’s Archival Jet Black. The elements on the corners and as “old” book hardware were first stamped in Close to Coco, but it wasn’t dark enough and I stamped over the “old” book hardware and offset just a smidge in Chocolate Chip. The corners were restamped in Rangers Archival Jet Black. The LAW letters on the spine were an after thought, it looked to bare without them, once attached. The walls/spine of the book were strong enough to accomplish the stamping there just fine.

The little cards inside were cut from cream colored card stock @ 6 x 3-3/4 and Scored @ 3 (L), folded in half and sponged on the front and backs. This was a fun way for all of the employees to write their own messages. I wish I had made a monogram for the front of each one, or at least stamped the first initial of the lady the card was for. I will be doing that on the next one! What a fun keepsake, that can sit on her desk. I keep all of my cards and letters that I receive and this one would be so fun to get.

20130729-042227.jpg

20130729-042328.jpg

20130729-042342.jpg

Stamp sets used: Tim Holtz clear set called, Journey. The Paper Studio clear set called, Classic Icons. Martha Stewart clear alpha set called, Ornamental Bodini or Martha Stewart/EK Success starter set Alpha (I have this set from 2 different packages-one came with inks and had extra letters).

Leave a Reply

