Insiders Online Card Class Day 2, Card 2

Hi Crafters!! Today’s card was inspired by the lovely Laura Bassen. She is a new DT for Papertrey Ink. I love my card. I really could have pulled every hair out of my head tho, by the time I was done with it. LOL I just didn’t have the right tools for this one and improvising was MAD. I stamped multiple panels with this “plaid” stamping technique and I just didn’t have any stamps that were good natured enough for it. I ended up going with the very first panel, so it was a complete waste of time doing the others. When will I learn? Wah….

I used a stamp set called Remember Autumn Leaves and it is a strip of daisy like flowers all in a row. I used Stampin”UP! inks in Real Red, Calypso Coral, Daffodil Delight, Lucky Limade, Costal Cabana, Pixie Pink and Basic Black for the HELLO stamp by studio g Sara Coyle, a $1.00 stamp from Michael’s. My black is very weird, it acts more like pigment ink and I think it really is, I’ve added water based dye reinker to try and help it, but it kept transferring to the clear acrylic piece and the normal dye inks don’t do that.

I used a scrap piece of Sizzix packaging, which was way too thick for the purpose of this card, but it’s what I had. I scored it 3/8″ at the top and adhered it to the top of the back of the card.

I used the Sizzix Framelits Ovals Collection from SU, the largest normal oval and die cut a section off of a 5 1/2″ x 4 1/4″ inch piece of card stock, twice. It would be smart to just cut these at the same time. I put another owl body on the inside of the card to cover the back of the one on front and it was a perfect opportunity to have an owl hanging upside down. If this isn’t the epitome of of what Insiders Card Class is all about, then I don’t know what is. haha Cute!!

Now I’m finally almost done with this card and I just didn’t have any flowers that I thought would go, so I pulled out the SU Owl Punch and Bird Punch (for branches) and I LOVE how this turned out.

20130926-233846.jpg

20130926-233858.jpg

6 thoughts on “Insiders Online Card Class Day 2, Card 2

    • Thanks Cindy! I don’t have a lot of the nesting shapes, but I really thought the Ovals, would be timeless and a good investment. Two of the dies work with the SU Tea Party stamp set too. has some fun Treat Holder ideas with this die set too.

    • Thanks so much Laurafadora. I’m all sub’d to your blog and so glad to see you fill a spot on the PTI DT. I’m going to get some real clear cards and try this one again.

Leave a Reply

