Insiders Online Card Class, Day 2, Card 4

Hi Crafters!! Today’s flip card was inspired by the Amazing Shari Carroll. I have followed Shari’s blog for a few years. I enjoy her laid back personality and her step by step videos.

I had a really hard time with the flipping mechanism of this card. LOL I know, it seems like I’ve said I’ve struggled for almost every card, so far in class. I was at a complete loss for any measurements past the acrylic pieces. :0 At 3:30am, I could not get my brain around how to attach all of the panels. A) I should have been in bed. B) I’ve been dragging all week staying up late almost every night over the course of the last 2 weeks. C) I want to do good in class. So I’m going to blame it on lacking sleep, a cranky – sad – sick baby with Stomatitis…horrible sores in the mouth related to the fever blister virus (which I started catching because we share food and a Benadryl hang over to nip it, an amazing friend’s death so I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster ride for 2 weeks, crying every day and worried about what I should be doing (I will be sharing my sympathy list in an up coming haul video).

I loved creating the inner panels, the clear ones and the one with the stenciled Sun, sponged with SU Poppy Parade a bright tomato red color. I just happen to have a little tin full of stencils set by Pebbles, Inc., with a Sun shine in it. Any sun die or a circle punch made into a stencil would have worked (I do this type of sponged sun on many of my hunting and masculine cards). I have 2 forms of clouds, a Sizzix small green cloud die and a Fiskars medium cloud punch. I used Stampin’UP! 6×6 double sided patterned papers called Designer Series Paper Patterns Pack IN Color 121028, that I’ve had for a long time. I’ve flipped through it so much, that it’s falling apart. LOL Well loved.

I stamped my sentiment strips with Ranger Archival jet black on scraps of water color paper. On the Sun panel I used Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous, City Central’s, city scape for a nice backdrop and the, it’s all perspective sentiment with the eye for my 2nd clear panel, on the 1st clear panel I stamped, Dreams really do come true, from a clear stamp set by Inkadinkado Friendship by Dawn Houser (this is a vertical sentiment and I tried to selectively ink and stamp the words in a straight line, which wasn’t that successful and I got some over shaddowing, but I figure it just adds to the torn paper hills). The sentiment on the Sun panel in the back, was done with a clear set by The Paper Studio’s, Everyday Expressions, I chose – Love You Forever, words (I use this stamp set all the time, it has tons of single words that can be arranged in any way you please).

For the pieces of CS that folded over the tops of the panels and adhere them all together (this part that I did over and over again, ripping my card apart repeatedly because I couldn’t fathom it’s construction (LOL), I used Spellbinder’s Labels Four, the 5th die up from the bottom and trimmed to fit. For the little handles on the clear panels I chose a 5/8″ circle punch as I’m giving this card to my hubby. I attached the whole flip panel to a Water color paper card base, then stamped a globe on the inside with Memento Tux. black ink and added my extra clouds, and colored the globe with Bic Mark it alcohol markers. And wrote, You are the World to Me! , with the fine tip black Sharpie pen.

I love how this turned out! I will definitely give this one a go again, when I’m more alert. haha Ah, looks like there is another update for the bugs in ioS7, Thank YOU Apple people. =D

20130927-154123.jpg

20130927-154139.jpg

20130927-154148.jpg

20130927-154205.jpg

4 thoughts on “Insiders Online Card Class, Day 2, Card 4

    • Thanks, I hope you tried it. It was so cool. I think part of my frustration was ios7 and YouTube not working properly. I should have gone to bed and slept, then finished it the next day. I’m going to come back and try this one again. I love the see through layers.

    • Thanks so much. I think I worried too much as I was creating and it was so late in the wee hours of the morning, but I really like how it turned out.

Leave a Reply

