Insiders Online Card Class, Day 2, Homework

Hi Crafters!! What a tough day of cards!! Kristina’s was by far the easiest to follow and do, for Me, anyhoo. They were over whelming for someone on little sleep and a Benadryl hang over. LOL But I made it. It’s only 3:48pm of Day three. Yak!! And I’m getting ready to start on Day 3’s card. The cool thing is, all Content is pre-recorded and it’s waiting for me to access it as I have time. I’ve had a spritely little break, swept off the front porch and driveway and put out some Fall decorations and I’m rearing to go. haha

Homework for the end of Day 2, was to make a card based on the inspiration or things we learned from today’s class. I chose to go with Kristina because her cards are very straight forward and do-able. As a bonus, we got to view a video called Friday Focus, where she makes a cool trifold card. The top panel and the bottom panel are trimmed smaller than the middle panel. Kristina hand trimmed the top portion of her card, so I did too, while holding my breath. It’s only card stock and I know that and I’m will to cut as much as it takes to get it pretty close to right. Even the scraps get used at my house. 😉 I used the Sizzix Ovals collection from SU (the largest Scallope Oval to cut my forest green pc of CS to mimic the hand cut curve of the top panel. I just kind of did my own thing as far as the layers (I use my ruler to gage what size pc of CS I need to cut to fit any given space. I also used an EK Success corner punch to round the middle panel’s corners.

I pulled out some great Basic Grey 6×6 paper pads that I won from J. McGuire’s blog some time ago. The one I ended up using is called Sweet Threads, I use it a lot, the patterns are pretty teals, pinks, greens, and just yummy. I also used some misc. solid 65 lb weight CS to layer too. Kristina shared a fabby cut file of some of her hand written words for silhouette. I don’t have a digital cutter, so I dove into my phrase dies to see what I had that might work. I ended up going with a couple of Sizzix Sizzlits phrase dies, So Sweet, and My Best Friend. I used the words, My, Sweet, Friend. Friend has a little heart to dot the “i”. So Cute! And I hand wrote some additional words, like Kristina did, with my black fine point Sharpie marker. I LOVE this Card!!

We did that kind of, Inner Office Memo Envelope, closure (the circle tabs attached by a brad and secured with string thingie). *My tip for having this type of closure work well, is to double the layers of circle punches ( I punched 4 circles and glued them together 2 at a time) and tie another piece of sting around the bottom circle/brad – knot it tight around the brad and trim it close under the circle punch, this will elevate it just a little bit so the string can wrap around it easily. I love this type of closure, it’s just fun & cute; an extra special touch with little effort. I will be giving this card to my Sweet Neighbor, Cheryl, who is having foot surgery. She shares veggies from her Garden with me all the time, plants that she is down sizing and she loves junk just like me. She was a nurse for years and has MS, but mowes her lawn and is constantly digging up the dandilions out of her front yard. I made her a little book mark too with some fun Tags by Cosmo Cricket (the I won from Cath @ Moxie Fab World). Eeeeeee!!!

So…..YouTube or ioS7 is still screwed. I will come back and add the video showing a closer look and discussion about how Day 2’s card went and Homework.

20130927-160803.jpg

20130927-160818.jpg

20130927-160827.jpg

20130927-160840.jpg

Leave a Reply

