Insiders Online Card Class, Day 3, Card 1

Hi Crafters!! Today’s card was inspired by the lovely Laura Bassen. Laura showed us how to make a card with a window on the front and a small envelope adhered to the inside of the card through that window.

By this time, I really need to start personalizing some of these cards and I figured why not kill 2 birds with 1 stone. My mom’s birthday is the first of December and I purchased Papertrey Ink’s, Year of Flowers, Poinsettia, just for this occasion. I wanted to use some better quality card stock than I normally use, so I pulled out a piece of Stampin’UP! Rich Razzleberry as a starting point, since my mom loves purple.

20130928-021119.jpg
I stamped the small poinsettia in RR ink as well on half of a sheet of white card stock cut down to 8 1/2 x 5 1/2, then I ran a wet aqua painter over these images, it wasn’t enough ink since this image is a line drawing with veins. So I squashed the lid of my RR ink pad and picked up the ink in the lid with a wet aqua painter and added some shading until I was happy with the results. I pulled out the larger tri-leaf image from PTI’s The Sweet Life set and stamped the solid ones in SU Lucky Limeade and the detail veins in Old Olive. The panel still seemed to be missing something, and I had to search several sets to find something that would work for some berries. PTI Signature Series Snowman’s piece of coal, came to my rescue and got stamped in groups of 3, 2 and 1, in SU Pixie Pink. I really like how this turned out and it was even cuter once cut with Sizzix’s small scalloped envelope die.

When I laid this poinsettia paper on the small envelope die I had no idea I was going to make an Envelope Liner for my Card, but I wanted to conserve that hand painted panel and get as much mileage out of it as I could. So, I laid the panel on the cutting edge of one of the side flaps and cut my small envelope for the window in the card. As I looked at what was left of the poinsettia paper, I wondered if it would fit inside my purple envelope did a quick measure with the ruler and it did, this piece was cut at 4 1/4″ x 4 1/4″. I put this new piece into the Fiskars trimmer like a Diamond, and cut a 1/2″ triangle off the right and off the left, now this piece fits right down inside my purple envelope. I gauged where I needed a fold line and scored that, then added adhesive to the top of the liner only, above the score line (flap area only on the envie). This allows it to move freely inside the envelope. Whoo!! Hoo!! Matchy Matchy…..Eeeeeeee!!! (happy sound)

20130928-021138.jpg</a
*Tip…When working with a shape like a diamond or an interesting shaped die cut, like Spellbinders Labels Four dies, I line the side point up on a vertical line and also line up the top point at the top of the trimmer to help me get a level and clean cut, use the horizontal and vertical guide lines to line up this odd shape. It makes it easier to see whether it's straight before you cut.

To get the window I used a ruler to mark roughly 1/8" more than the size of the small envelope. And cut the window in my Fiskars paper trimmer because I could easily see the pencil lines and tell where to start and stop the blade. I decided a square card would be more fun and cut a piece of purple paper with Sizzix Pro Square Envelope die, this actually dictated the size of my card. That cool square envelope measures very close to 5 1/2" x 5 1/2", so I cut my card down to 5 1/4 by 5 1/4. I do this a lot on my big paper chopper. LOL And I have a special little tub for all of the extra bits to use for small odd shaped cards. A solid ribbon would have been prettier, but I went with a white sheer organdy by Ribbon Trends, glued that to the back of the envie and used sticky strip to mount it inside the card window, on the inside of the card.

I'm done fighting with Word Press. I hope they get their act together soon!! And I hope this post makes sense, I've been editing it for 2 hours, which is nonsense since it's 2:45am. Oye!

20130928-021218.jpg

20130928-024133.jpg

Leave a Reply

