November 2013 Name Tags

Hey Crafters!! This month’s tag is made using this cute Turkey and sentiment, from a mini Inkadinkado $1.00 stamp set I picked up a couple of Seasons ago at JoAnn’s. The floral image is a Studiog, also from a $1.00 stamp from the $1.00 bin at Michaels, 2 generation stamping with Stampin’UP! Close to Coco ink.The black images were stamped in Ranger Archival jet black ink and colored with Crayola and Cra-Z-Art washable kid’s markers, then diluted with a wet aqua painter for a faux water color look. This is a great way to make stamped cards fast and easy, with a little artistic flare. Heavy weight, White Card stock from The Paper Studio at Hobby Lobby, cut to 2 1/2 inches by 3 1/4 inches. The name tag holders are from Wal-mart, @TheOffice brand, Verical.

20131121-214915.jpg

20131121-214922.jpg

I had to use the turkey image this year. I’ve had Turkey on the mind because I’ve seen them almost everyday that I’m out and about. They are out early in groups or pairs. If your driving past a flock, they don’t give you a second thought. If you stop and try to snap a pic or two, they are on the run, which I find odd. Fast moving vehicles don’t bother them. LOL I even got a glimpse of 2 deer (buck and a doe) and 3 turkeys a couple of weeks ago on the edge of the soccer field in Springfield at the YMCA. I was driving by and noticed these 2 deer coming down from the tree line onto the edge of the field, which is on a slant. I’m not sure who was challenging who?? The turkeys were jumping well above the height of the deer’s heads and the deer were trying to ward them off by charging with their heads low to the ground, which was awesome to see in person. And I’ve seen these 3 turkeys there days after the deer were present. It’s a very narrow tree line between James River Freeway and the YMCA, I would say less than half of a foot ball field. Maybe 50 yards or less. Deer are a bit territorial and I suppose turkeys are too, which I find odd since they are birds. LOL I don’t have any good pictures to share because I use Apple’s iphone. I know my Motorola and Blackberry phones have taken better pictures and excellent still shots of moving things. I’m at a complete loss as to why Apple is not in this game. Getting back on track…
Nov Name Tag Video

20131121-131153.jpg

20131121-172853.jpg

Use what you have. Any Fall theme, leaf or harvest stamps would make a cute card for name tags or ATCs. Another part of my collection obsession, is Masculine Catalogs or Advertisements, when my husband is done looking at them he tosses them in the trash. If I see them, I pluck them right out and keep them in my Craft Studio for quick reference. They are a great source of inspiration for coloring animal images, and the coolest thing is, it does not matter whether you are crafting with life like animal images or cute cartoon like animal images. Even if you don’t go by the photo in the catalog, it will give you a perspective, an idea or a jumping off point. And when you aren’t sure what to do or your MoJo is missing, that it all you need to get going again. Of course, you can always go in a non-traditional color scheme, it is the Artist’s choice. And I don’t naturally think like that, but I enjoy seeing other crafters do it, it’s refreshing to me because it’s on the edge, out of the ordinary and completely outside of my little box. Eventually, I may get there too. I am an Artist and You are an Artist! I don’t really consider myself an artist, but I love and appreciate so many things in nature. I see the beauty in Everything, whether it’s the renewal or the harvest, landscapes or wild life. I’m definitely a Creator. LOL

One thought on “November 2013 Name Tags

  1. Love your cute name tags – that poor turkey doesn’t know what’s about to hit him! Just popped by to say thank you for your lovely words on my PaperArtsy projects earlier this month – sorry I’m so late catching up, and Happy Thanksgiving for tomorrow!
    Alison x

Leave a Reply

