Papertrey Ink #144 Embossing Vellum

Hey Crafters!! PTI’s Make It Monday Challenge #144 Heat Embossing Vellum can be found here at Nicole’s Blog by the lovely Melissa Phillips.

I love these challenges that push me outside of my normal card making. I was off today and I’m working on some Christmasy things and I decided to take time out to play in this challenge. I adore my PTI stamps and dies and while I don’t have this lovely set with the buildings, I was able to improvise with a In The Meadow and Spring Hills and a couple of trees from Hero Arts/Sizzix.

I started by choosing a 12×12 patterned paper and glued it to an inexpensive piece of CS with some glue stick, then cut it down to 8 1/2x 11 inches, then cut that into 4 pieces that are 5 1/2x 4 1/4, thinking I would make 4 cards as a gift set. I ended up making only the 1 card, but there is always the rest of the week. You can enter these challenges as many times I you have time for. I cut another piece of white CS to 5 1/2x 4 1/4 and scored it (P) at 1/2 for the back of my card and made a snow hill swoosh across the bottom with a Crayola washable marker and wet that with my aqua painter, dried it with the heat tool, stamped the silhouette snowman from In The Meadow stamp set, drew on eyes-buttons-arms with a brown Crayola Washable marker and called it good.

Horse and carriage was stamped directly on my designer paper piece first, in Stampin’UP! Pacific Point, about 3/8 inch above the bottom so I could add my snow. My trees were cut from a scrap of green paper laying by the die cutting station. LOL I figured this was just fine since they were going to be under my vellum layer. I doodled on them by dotting some Bic Mark It in red for holiday lights, then used a Green Crayola washable marker to outline the triangle of the trees and did some ruffly lines horizontally for faux branch layers, drew on the trunks with a maroon Crayola marker and glued them down over my carriage and horse. I pulled out a house stamped on pink CS from a previous project and cut it out right next to the black stamped line of the house. I needed a little hill for the house to stand on since it is smaller than my horse and carriage from In The Meadow, I grabbed a scrap of white CS and my large oval punch (1 1/4″x2″) and punched the edge and snuck my hill under the large tree and glued my house on the hill.

My vellum piece is cut to 5 1/2″ x 4 1/4″ too. I lined it up over my decorative paper with carriage stamped, house on hill, and trees all in place. Now I can see where to stamp the house in Versamark ink and emboss with pink powder. My pink is really sad and I’ve added some other powders to it, so it will not be so weak next time! LOL I used a very juicy embossing pen, called PenBoss, that I have added more embossing liquid to, and doodled snow on the house, trees and under the carriage. Stamped snow flakes across the vellum and embossed all of this in white. For the sentiment, SU’s Four the Holidays stamp set, Merry Christmas was stamped and embossed in a silver emb. powder. I glued the vellum layer to the decorative paper layer with glossy accents behind the lg. snow flakes and all of my snow, and a thin strip across the top. I have a lot of this white twine from the feed bags, from bird seed, so I used a 1/8″ hole punch and took 2 little chomps out of the edge of the CS on each side, so my twine won’t slide around, wrapped 3 times and tied in a bow. Ran some more of this twine through a blue button and glued it on top. And I like it, like it. Ha!

I love Melissa’s style and only wish my cards were as pretty. I may get there in the end if I keep playing. (((((Holiday Crafting Hugs)))))

20131209-181801.jpg

20131209-181807.jpg

11 thoughts on “Papertrey Ink #144 Embossing Vellum

  1. Paulette, it is snowing on your sweet card! Ha! Love the effect, just wanted to say. Absolutely adorable how you snowed the embossing on the vellum. And the shadowed sleigh, brilliant!

  2. Paulett this is stunning! I love the beautiful city scene you have created! Such pretty layers and love the white outline. Love the snow falling on the screen too.

    • Thanks Kristii!! I probably should have used In the Meadow for my Christmas cards this year, but Year of Flowers Poinsettia won out.

      Paulette S.

      >

    • Thanks Linda!! I love that image too and I love Melissa’s style and her inspiration to use the vellum. It’s something I would not typically do and I love how it turned out. =D

Leave a Reply

