3 D Mounted Deer Head Card

Hi Crafters!! My husband had a birthday in February. He eats-breathes-dreams about hunting. LOL Our perfect DIL made a special dinner for him. I found a very cool bath rug at a Wal-mart in Springfield, with a nice buck on it and some boxed Movie candies, which are his favorite. Then I needed a card. I’ve seen this done before, at least a year ago in blog land and have never forgotten it.

20140308-214943.jpg

I used the Sizzix Reindeer die, cut in many layers of water color paper. This reindeer has a little round nose, which I trimmed off of the 1st die cut and then used as a template of where to cut the others. I have no idea how many die cuts I ended up using, it was not enough, in my opinion, it needed twice as much. But I got tired of gluing them together and just gave up. LOL

The 3D deer head was sanded a little bit and painted with some brown craft paint, then mounted to 2 layers of a Spellbinder’s label 4 die cut. I painted the label 4 die cut in black craft paint and added a bit of brown on top.

The corner decorations are from a Quickutz 4 x 4 die that cuts 4 of these corners at one pass. It leaves a nice negative that would be great for another project. 😉

I didn’t leave room for a sentiment, so I stamped it on the inside. I love having a theme to base my card on, it takes all of the pressure off of having to come up with something out of thin air. Deer Hunter, Deer Rug…..Deer Card. Ha!

20140308-215004.jpg

2 thoughts on “3 D Mounted Deer Head Card

Leave a Reply

