Masculine Birthday for Guitar Enthusiast and Photographer

Hi Crafters!! My lovely daughter Katie, requested a card for a man that plays guitar and enjoys photography. My initial thoughts were, to make 2 cards, one geared toward Guitars and the other toward Photography. I like choices and I think it’s more fun, if Katie can pick which she likes better.

I assumed this card was for a friend in Cody’s Band. I was wrong. LOL It was for a co-worker! And I didn’t leave much, if any room, for signatures and well wishes. Doh!!

The card became so involved, that it was the only one I made, since I ran out of time. When I get ready to create, I pull the products I have collected that relate to the theme, I jokingly call, “flavor”. I pulled the Photo Camera dies from AccuCut Craft, that were identical, but I altered one of them by removing that large hole in the middle and the peep rectangle, because they didn’t have an album builder die in this style camera. I usually score 1/2″ on the left side and glue my additional camera pages to the back of the Front one. This time, I decided to add 1/2″ with a fold just inside the cut line, for a hinge. I like this much better, it allows the whole camera to show. And I just folded the extra 1/2″ inch to the back side of the card and I don’t have a photo for that, sorry. So, lets get to it……

Here is the Front of the card (the “original” photo camera from the AccuCut die) cut in black. I have used 2 Spellbinders standard circle dies to make a frame for the lens opening, which barely fit it. The corner stamps is from Glitz afternoon muse stamp set, the vertical hand grip (from AccuCut Potholder and Spatula die) and the SU word window punch were all inked with Embossing ink and embossed with clear embossing powder and heat set. The guitar and stars are from Stampabilites Rock Star set, center sentiment from PTI Shutterbug Special and stamped in Ranger Archival jet black ink.

20140404-124831.jpg

This is the inside of the front cover. I took the Spellbinders film strip die, which has 3 openings, and cut it into individual openings. I had originally stamped and assembled this with the 3 openings, with 2 different sets of images, for 2 strips. They just would not fit friendly enough on this camera panel, hence the trimming them down and adding some cream paper behind them to make them pop. And I LOVE how they turned out. To make them seem a bit more like negatives, I used Stampin’UP! Dusty Durango for a sepia tone. Images are from TH Stampers Anonymous City Central and Recollections Going Places.

20140404-125134.jpg

When you open the Front of the camera (this page was cut with the “altered” photo camera die from AccuCut. I typically decorate each page with a circle frame around the center and prob. should have on this panel, but instead I reached for a camera die cut from Papertrey Ink’s Shutterbug Special, with it’s cute little pull out piece, and stamped a camera from Inkadinkado, make sure to capture the “say cheese” part, then doodled a little bit on both of these smaller cameras with a Crayola washable maker in the lightest blue. The (eye) and sentiment below it are from TH SA City Central. Capture the memories is from PTI SBS too. Happy Bday is from The Paper Studio, birthday cupcakes set.

20140404-125514.jpg

Now for the big photos. LOL This got a bit out of hand, but so it goes! I started pulling masculine stamp sets like, Need for Speed, Zoo Review, A Light Unto My Path, all from SU for the vehicles-lighthouse-animals. Stampendous Rock Out for the drum set and American Crafts Sing Along for the radio and the music notes and word Music are from Stampabilities Rock Star set(again thinking this was for a friend in the band….) LOL I stamped random images around on this panel first. I was thinking surely I have some kind of “frame” die, but I don’t. So, I just doodled some frames with my handy Sharpie pen, using a piece of water color paper in a couple of different sizes (traced around them) and it seemed a bit messy. So, I added some squiggly lines over the straight lines and I really like how they turned out. I did have to do a little bit of masking for the photos behind, like the giraffes and I bobbled with one of the giraffe images, but I did not have time to start over!! And just hoped people wouldn’t notice. hmmm….

The word Travel is from Recollections Going Places. * Would you believe, I stamped it upside down!!! In my haste to hurry? So that it how the Travel and Music ended up on little panels with ink added to the edges from SU Close to Coco ink. The little stamps that say, Photo and Date are from PTI SBU set used throughout this project.

20140404-131436.jpg

20140404-131517.jpg

Leave a Reply

