Penny Black Hedgies!!

Hi Crafters!! Spring has Sprung and I’ll be back later to share my tulips and Easter projects soon!

Susan at card class has her first grand baby. I’ve been so bad and not done anything for our ladies as their grands arrive, but Susan was the first to greet me with a warm Hello and sincere hug every time we meet. It makes me feel special. I wanted to do something for her within my realm. I received several gifts for my grand baby and I know she will too. She will need thank you cards and I thought, that is definitely something I can do for her.

I pulled out some previously colored Hedgies and added a little bit more color to some of them, since they were some of the first images that I ever water colored with my Stampin’UP! reinkers. I’ve gotten better at shading over time. And even had to stamp a few more. I LOVE these Penny Black hedgies!! They are so sweet.

I took the Hedgies to the my card stock and chose colors that were in the same color families that they were colored in, to use for my card bases. Razberry Ripple and Calypso Coral are from Stampin’UP! The kraft color is Colorbok from Wal-mart. The card bases are A2 sized (4-1/4″ x 5-1/2″).

I also rummaged through my nested dies to find one that would encompass the image and work with the small pieces of water color paper. It ended up being a SU Sizzix die set called Labels Collection. I used the size that would get most of the image and still fit on the small pieces of water color paper. They seemed so bland, so I ended up cutting a mat of the next largest size in black card stock too, to make them pop. Pulled out some random patterned paper and made several cards and stamped a black Thank You under the Hedgies. I had a box of invitation envelopes and just chose colors that would kind of go with the cards or the colors in the patterned paper on them.

20140425-213508.jpg

20140425-213442.jpg

20140425-213538.jpg

Leave a Reply

