Father’s Day Notepads

Hi Crafters!! Erin Lincoln did this Notebook , for a recent Make It Monday @ Papertrey Ink. I did not get to play, but knew this would be a great quick gift I could do to make for my Father’s Day treats.

20140701-160640-58000349.jpg

I started with some Georgia Pacific white 110# card stock, cut down to 5 1/2 x 2 3/4 inch rectangles for my pages. I chose 2 similar colors of Stampin’UP! ink and stamped on every piece of CS alternating with a light color on one panel and a dark color on the next panel, stamping 2 cards with the same image as I went. I loved the stamping so much, that I didn’t even make a cover for my note pads! And I literally didn’t have time for covers, so perfect!!

The Nautical one was for DH and the first one I did, and the stamps were bigger or I just filled the space better. The second one was the Rock Music one and some of the stamped panels felt odd or missing something, so it got sentiments to fill the gaps in my stamping and I loved it.

If the main image was stamped in a dark color ink, I used the light ink for the sentiment or another image. And visa-versa, when the image was in a light ink, I used the dark ink for the sentiment. As I went on, it became obvious that the cards with the dark sentiments really popped and so after the first 2 or 3 notepads, I started stamping all of the sentiments in the darker ink. This is how my projects evolve, always… And I started creating some in the landscape mode too. I quickly realized I could do these in any theme or cater them to a specific person with their hobbies/likes/employement/retirement, etc.

Once all of the stamping is done, you bind the stamped card stock pieces together. I used strips of old T-shirt material cut at 1/2 inch wide and 12 to 15 inches long. Wrapped them around the stack as many times as it would go and, still let me, tie a bow. The top of the pad has to be level, so I tamped the top edge down on my work surface several times. Squirted out a pile of Elmer’s all purpose glue, in an artist’s tray or on your glass cutting mat, and dipped the tip of my index finger in it and spread it across the tops of the pads. Let them dry completely. And add another layer of glue. I added 2 to 3 layers. I felt this was sufficient. I had so much fun making these and I’m already working on some girlie ones!

Enjoy!! My Note Pad Video

Leave a Reply

