Not, My Little Pony

Hey Crafters!! My grand baby turned 2 in June. Her party was sort of My Little Pony, but we didn’t have any decorations and at her party, the cake had 2 My Little Ponies on it. I wanted to make her a Banner with her name on it. All I had for horses, was a lovely Inkadinkado set called, Horses 99540. I used the large horse head to stamp the horses for each section of the banner, in Memento ink.

I had googled MLP to scope out their colors and hair and started sketching in more hair with a fine tip black Sharpie, some had wings and some had unicorn horns. LOL And of course, there are clouds and castles too! I used Bic Mark It markers to color the horses.

I tried to do that thing…where you fussy cut part of the image and slip a die over the rest, to get some of the image outside of the die. Well, I’m not sure I understand the concept of that! But did my best anyway and spent hours creating the banner and birthday card.

Have you ever spent so much time on a project and not been completely pleased with it? But you reach a point of no return, you’re in too deep to stop. Yep! I was there, but didn’t have time to begin again or go shop for the real thing. I didn’t even see them at Hobby Lobby in the party dept., when I looked later.

The basic shapes for the banner, are a Sizzix die, Cresent Tag? , the small cloud is from Sizzix too, it’s a small thick green die. The circles are from Spellbinders and I let the horses dictate which size I used. The Cresent shapes were stamped with a “daisy” image from Papertrey Ink’s Vintage Picnic stamp set and heat embossed with white powder. The horses were colored with Bic Mark It alcohol markers and I doodled their eyes to be bigger than they are on the stamp, as well as, extended their neck lines downward.

The smaller horses are also from that same Inkadinkado set and I thought there were perfect to hold Millie’s name, which was cut in black card stock with Sizzix Serif Essentials alphabet die set. I love these 2×2 inch letters! The horses were heat embossed with white powder too, so they would tie into the flowers on the banner.

The Castle is an AccuCut Craft Castle Album piece from a 3 pc die set, A1070NHJA, B and C. I love the Jumbo sized dies, they are my favorites from AccuCut. The door and windows are from a Spellbinders nested set, Arched Windows. I doodled on the castle with Bic Mark Its with the help of a ruler for the bricks and free handed the roofs. The fruit on the castle and card are from PTI’s Vintage Picnic, also colored in with Bic markers.

While I was constructing the banner, Millie our 2 year old said, Ponies! So, there you go, toddler approved. HaHa!! She is amazing and understands a vast amount of things already. She loves movies and has been running the iphone photo app for months. She loves to see all of our pictures of family and herself, especially the videos.

I needed a birthday card and it just seemed logical to make it a Castle card to match. I used all 3 die cuts mentioned above. I cut the castle pieces in colored card stock and white, and backed each colored piece with a white piece for stability and this also allowed me to personalize the “inside” of the castle, if you will, by stamping and drawing. A cropodile to punch holes on the left side and tied the pages together with crochet cotton. All images were stamped with Memento and colored with Bic Mark It markers. IMG_6287.JPG
This Pink Pony was suppose to have really curly hair, but in the bustle of creativity that was elluded. LOL And this was one of my favorites from the herd.

IMG_6289.JPG
I used my glass cutting mat, with grid lines to help me line up the proper length of string, so the small embossed ponies hung the same length from the banner pieces.

IMG_6286.JPG
This castle piece gave some weight to the banner and made it hang, the way I wanted it to.

IMG_6288.JPG
Blue Pony

IMG_6291.JPG
Yellow Pony with Pink hair. I’m not sure why I didn’t fill the mane in more there on the neck? It looks odd, now… LOL

IMG_6292.JPG
Blue and Purple Pony. This was one of my favorites! I just loved that bold hair and the blunt cut.

IMG_6293.JPG
Rainbow Pony, eh…this was my second attempt and it was much better than the first one. LOL

IMG_6290.JPG
Yellow Pony with Cowboy Hat. This one is one of my favorites too, although I liked the first one better, but failed to realize it was one with wings and you’ll see the original one on the video. It was just better, the hat was better.

IMG_6294.JPG

Click Here for the Video about the Banner and Birthday Card

4 thoughts on “Not, My Little Pony

  1. What an incredibly beautiful banner Paulette!
    I’ve never seen anything like it 😉
    Thanks~

Leave a Reply

