Party Crowd Birthday Card Oct 2014

Hey Crafters!! Our daughter’s husband Cody, turned 25 this October. They were out of town on his birthday, enjoying Universal Studios and the Harry Potter theme park. And while I do have a Harry Potter stamp, from when Amuse had their stamp store, I have been collecting “music” and “band” theme products for some time now. The most recent goodies were purchased at JoAnn’s online this past Summer and I will be sharing those in a video soon!

IMG_7140.JPG
This is a very odd sized card base cut in heavy weight white card stock by The Paper Studio. The card size was dictated by the size of the “Party Crowd” die, from Die-Versions, it measures 6 in. x 1 7/8 in. I knew I had to HAVE this die as soon as I laid eyes on it. It could be used for so many occasions, that I hope to share as time goes by. I love products that make my mind race with ideas. I think that is part of the charm of paper crafting products, for Me. I’m sure it has nothing to do with my die addiction…LOL

I hand cut a sad stencil for uplighting, that was all wrong, but you don’t know until you’re done! Does anyone remember Christopher Lowell, interior decorator, with all of his uplighting under plants? My stencil only had 2 uplights and it should have had 3 or 5, that I moved back and forth across the front of the card, sponging in Stampin’UP! dye inks in bright and light colors, overlapping them. I was left with these odd diamond shapes that I masked with post-it tape and filled in.

The flags are a single stamp, from the $1.00 bin at Michael’s, Hampton Art, 2010 Katie & co. Isn’t it fun? I stamped it in Memento black ink across the card, hand drawing the little bow strings holding them together, and stamped them again on white card stock, then colored the flags with Copic markers, fussy cut them and popped them up on foam adhesive.

The speakers were hand cut according to the size of the crowd and the card in black CS. The centers of the speakers were punched with a 1 in. and 1/2 in. circle punch, the half in circles punched first in the dark blue CS, then the 1 inch punch hovered over the 1/2 in. opening and punched. The 1 in. circles were elevated on foam adhesive. I doodled on the 1/2 in. circles with some alcohol markers. Birthday sentiment from Close to my Heart Birthday C1257 (retired). The 25 came from The Paper Studio’s stamp set, Months of the Year and I hand wrote th after 25. I can’t believe these kids are 25!! Already! Music Notes, from SSS set called Music 2 My Ears, by Kristina Werner.

Our baby, Cody’s baby, loves Spongebob and we see his metallic balloons at Wal-mart every time we shop, so I thought it would be funny to make a Spongebob and Patrick balloon for the inside of the card. I stamped the images in Memento Black ink and colored them with Copics, used a circle punch to punch them out and hand cut the bottoms of the balloons. This fun SU stamp set called, Stem Sayings (Retired), was used for the strings of the balloons, stamped in Ranger Archival Jet Black ink.

IMG_7139.JPG

Leave a Reply

