Happy Halloween 2014

Hey Crafters!! Happy Halloween! We are not handing out candy, but I thought I would share my decorations.

IMG_6813.JPG
Owl Salt & Pepper shakers! Totally Fall…

IMG_6796.JPG
Some of of My favorite Halloween decorations, my sweet ghost (w/night light inside, but I never use the light because it has a really short cord, my sweet neighbor Shirley Pingle made this. I believe she did it all from start to finish in her home. She poured the molds, glazed them and cured them in her own kiln. Mom and I would go to her house and purchase fun things, for the holidays. The gourds are from last Fall, if you can believe that. The lumpy pumpkin under the witch hat has been on the frig ALL year and it’s still orange! Crazy, I know! I picked up that pumpkin plate at a second hand shop years ago, those little teapot S & Ps too. Halloween is from Gordman’s.

IMG_6799.JPG
This door wreath is SO OLD…Mike’s aunt Deborah made it for me eons ago, something like 25 years ago, it’s actually a peachy orange color and came with a large metal horse (this horse is in a closet somewhere, I stumble upon it now and again) on it that her boyfriend, Larry cut out by hand with metal shears. I’ve wrapped a faux grapes w/green leaves swag around it, plus a faux fall leaves swag and a lovely fall pick with pumpkins and tiny gourds, and a beautiful sheer burnt orange bow on a pick that came with some fresh flowers (I just can’t bring myself to throw pretty things away!) About 5 years ago I wrapped all of the odds and ends around this old wreath and gave it new life and I love it, so this is how it stays. I stick in in a closet until the next Fall.

IMG_6809.JPG
One of my Favorite spoon rests, from Gordman’s. I love these little ceramic plates so much!

IMG_5688.JPG
A wall hanging that we made at Katie’s Girls Night, she requested a fan fold wall hanging based on one I had made for her and Amber 4th of July 2013. This 2 sided paper came from American Crafts ? it’s some I picked up at Tuesday morning out of season. I cut the 12 x 12″ card stock into 4 inch wide strips (3 in. strips would have made better use of my card stock, but I had plenty for 7 to 8 kits and rolled on). The 4 strips were scored @ every 1/2″ and adhered together end to end to form a circle, foam core circles were cut at 2 and 1/2″ and glued to the center on each side of the fan folded rounds to keep them in place. Large circles of card stock were cut to glue over the foam core and became the base to glue the Sizzix Owl #2 die cut to. A witches hat from another Sizzix die, ?, the broom was also from this die and cut in water color paper (we doodled on the broom with alcohol markers and a fine point marker).

IMG_5689.JPG
The Spider Web and Spider are from My Favorite Things die set, they were cut from water color paper that I water colored with black and blue WC paints before die cutting. We added glitter to the spiders with some glossy accents. The ALPHA dies for both sides are from Sizzix Serif Essentials die set. A length of cotton yarn makes a loop for hanging, glued behind the large base circle on one side of the wall hanging. They were fun to make, but took way too long to construct in a group setting. There was a Mary Kay lady who came to do pedicures (which was actually wrapping our feet in hot rags). Our plan was to split the ladies into 2 groups, one would craft and one would get their pedicures, so things could get done in a timely manner, but the MK lady didn’t agree. I will have to come up with a craft that is less complicated next time. I originally used hot glue on my sample, but since we had several toddlers at our party, I just didn’t feel it would be safe and we used glossy accents and guick grab glue, which slowed down our time too.

One thought on “Happy Halloween 2014

  1. Hello Paulette,
    What a beautifully decorated home!
    Now, that’s the spirit 😉
    Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog yesterday!
    Greetings from Chi-Town~

Leave a Reply

