PTI Make It Monday #199

Hey Crafters!! It’s MIM Challenge #199, make a die cut garland. I thought I would kill 2 birds with one stone, pardon the pun. And make a birthday card for my husband, Mike, a California kid who grew up at the Ocean. His birthday is in Feb., but we’ve got lots going. Some of our Favorite vacations have been at various Oceans. And even when we were in W. Hollywood this past Summer and visited the Santa Monica Pier, Mike said, I feel like I’m home.

This is a shaker card that does not open. LOL A) Because I have a limited supply of acrylic scraps. and B) Because I thought it might be simpler. Ha!

IMG_6357.JPG
The item that qualifies me for the PTI challenge, is the Paper Trey Ink, Picket Fence die and I used it twice on the face of my card. It was cut in water color paper and doodled on with Crayola washable markers, then diluted with a wet aqua painter. The outer boards were lifted up with one layer of Scotch foam adhesive for dimension. I did trim each fence panel down, by cutting 2 boards off each fence piece. I draped some of this twine stuff over my fence and loved that! You know, how you find random rope or fishing nets at the ocean!? And it gave me a great place to tuck some of the star fish and shells.

This was the perfect time to use my new Impression Obsession, Mini Shells die, cut in Pink-Green-Orange-Purple card stocks and doodled on with copics. I chose 2 markers for each color of shell, a dark marker and a light marker in the same color family as the card stock, coloring with the dark marker first and filling in or diluting with the lighter marker. These shells were primarily for my Garland. I used the Martha Stewart hand held 1/16th of an inch circle punch to put holes in the shells. And saved a few for the inside of the card and glued those along the empty space between the fences on the inside. I also cut the Mini Shells in some water color paper too! So, my sand dollars would be more realistic and doodled on them with Crayola markers and diluted that with water, then came back and doodled on them some more with the same marker for dark areas. Then I got to creating some realistic looking shells…oh my! And really got carried away sticking them here, there and everywhere! I LOVE shells! Can you tell? When I was a tiny tot, Nanny had a medium sized box of white shells, at the Frontier Curio Shop. I would spend hours taking them out and pairing them up. Something about scooping them out of the box was so satisfying. It’s my favorite thing to do when I’m near water, find shells…and if the water is clear enough to dive for them, even better…

IMG_6356.JPG

The gorgeous lighthouse stamp is from SU, called a Light unto My Path. I doodled all over the stamp with Crayola Washable markers, Sprayed the stamp several times with mists of water and stamped onto some thin white card stock from Staples (11″ x 17″) I get the best results with this CS and this method of water color stamping.

My base is cut at 11″ x 4 1/4″, scored at 5 1/2″, and die cut in the center of the front with the Lawn Fawn Stitched Journaling card die. I glued a piece of thick acetate inside this window. Adhered Scotch foam in a double thickness (this always gets me in trouble and my die cuts get stuck on top of each other), filled the shaker with micro beads in Brown-Gold-Silver and threw in the scrap die cuts from the tiny shells and inside of the Dream word die cut (this was a BIG Mistake). The paper scraps have static electricity and keep sticking to the clear panel, even though I dusted it thoroughly with my powder bag!!! I tried filming this 2 days in a row and it was eternally long, like most of my posts because I have to give all of the details! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “PTI Make It Monday #199

Leave a Reply

