Papertrey’s 8th Bday, Blue Skies, Feb. 2015

Hey Crafters!! I have so enjoyed PTI’s birthday! And playing in all of the challenges. I really should be cleaning house or doing something worthy, but I love these challenges because they stretch me to create something I had no idea to create.

This challenge was to use Blue Ombre, all shades of Blue, ombre background or ombre inking of a bold image. I was so deflated that we didn’t get to create a mini scene on the Petite Places day, that I merged a mini scene with my Ombre sky surrounding it.

IMG_6503.JPG
PTI Stamps: Spring Hills, I nabbed a house that was already stamped in black ink on red card stock and doodled on it with a maroon Crayola washable marker and diluted that with water and an aqua brush.

For my Shaped card base, I chose SU/Sizzix Framelits – Ovals Collection. The Scalloped oval was cut twice to form my card, the back layer was scored at the top (Landscape mode) for the hinge of the card and adhered to the front panel. The largest smooth oval and the next one down were taped together and run with water color paper to make a frame. The largest oval was also cut in white and embossed with Tim Holtz embossing folder (sunrise) from Playing Games set. I inked the inside of the folder with SU Crushed Curry ink and ran it through the die machine. When it came out, I direct to paper over the high points of the image with Dusty Durango and it wasn’t quite what I expected, so I diluted the orange bits with water and then the yellow bits to and they melded a bit more to my liking.

I cut a landscape from a large oval in green card stock and a Lawn Fawn Stitched Hillside Border die for my grassy sloop. I direct to paper with SU’s Old Olive over my grassy slope, but it just didn’t make me happy. :0
I admire the cross cut grass on Base Ball fields and lawns, where people take the time to special cut it this way. It’s so pretty for grass! LOL So, I mimicked this with a couple of different green Crayola washable markers. And diluted the whole piece with a wet aqua painter. Eeeeeee! (happy sound)….pretty grass acomplished!

The sweet little trees are from Kristina Werner’s Village SSSD111405. I cut them on green CS and since the bases do not cut across the bottom, I used scissors to make long tree trunks and cut them to the lengths I wanted and adhered them.

Okay, I have to admit, I completely forgot about the whole Ombre Effect!! And had to add that to the perimeter of my card, which pilled up the paper quite a bit, but I rolled on. Well, because it’s jut how I roll! And I even got a bit of water color on the inside of my card, so I really wham-o’d it up with water color sky and some grassy slope too!

IMG_6504.JPG

2 thoughts on “Papertrey’s 8th Bday, Blue Skies, Feb. 2015

Leave a Reply

