March 2015 Name Tags

Hey Crafters!!  Happy St. Patty’s Day!  



What do you think about my new camera set up, for ipad2?  I think it’s so much better.  Still, not exactly what I want, but gets you guys a bit closer to what I’m doing.  You’d laugh at me if I showed you what it was because it’s very Hodge Podge!!  I’d rather spend my money on stamps and dies!  If I could just get my iphone 5S to record in landscape, we’d be golden, because it has a much better camera than ip2.    LOL  

This month’s tag uses the Simon Says Stamp  matching Stamp and Die set called, Stylish Simon (bundle).  The name tags are cut at 2 1/2″ x 3 1/4″, for the Name Tags from Wal-mart Super Center, in white card stock.  I started with a little cloud mask made from the Fiskars medium cloud punch, to color in 2 clouds on the card first with Copic B0000 (this was almost too light).  

The abbreviation of March was stamped next, with Months of the Year Wood Stamp by the Paper Studio.  By masking off the “ch” with Post It Tape, and inking the “Mar” with Ranger Archival Jet Black ink and stamped into the left corner. 

The little dog was die cut and stamped in Memento black ink and colored with Copics in the center ear area with R12, then outlined with the base body color E70. The main body was filled in the E70 too, then the inner ear area was outlined for detail with E35 and 3 swooshes upward to look like the hair that protects the inside of the ears.  Bic Mark It in Tiki Hut Tan was used as a shadow on the 2 short legs and the tail, and also for the eye brows and under the eyes.  Every little detail counts, no matter how subtle. 😉  

The shamrocks were cut from a Quickutz 2×2″ die # 1-1-0655 (they are 2 different shamrocks but both are 4 leaf clovers)  I then stamped over the leaves with a little $1 shamrock to give them definition and colored the base of the stem with Copic G07 to make it look like a fresh cut.

The dog’s mouth was cut open with scissors just under the upper lip all the way across, so I could tuck the clover into the mouth.  So fun!!  The clover was adhered to the dog with Fast Grab tacky glue.  Then the dog was glued to the card with tacky glue too.  

The grass was feathered in with Copic YG25 and the sentiment, St. Patrick’s Day, from Papertrey Ink’s, Year Round Happiness (holiday sentiments), was stamped in Ranger Archival jet black ink last.  

Enjoy!   I don’t know why WordPress quit letting me drop the video right into my posts, after their last update? or ipad’s last update?  If you know the answer, please share…

Click here to watch the Video at YouTube

One thought on “March 2015 Name Tags

Leave a Reply

