Masculine Get Well Card, Horses

Hey Crafters!!  I’m playing catch up and hopefully will be back to posting on a regular basis. 


This is a card I made in the Fall for my cousin Barry, diagnosed with metal particles in his lungs from his job.  He’d had some serious surgery and the girls (his sisters) told me at our winter reunion,  he might not make it.  Wah!!  They had found new homes for his birds and dogs, so I didn’t want to put anything like that on this card,  but then I remembered the ponies…



When we would go to visit Ma-Ma (pronounced Maw-Maw, my paternal granny) my little brother and  I stayed next door at my favorite Aunt’s house (Aunt Wilma).  I’m very close to her girls, Lesa and Sheray, we are all 1 year apart in age. They had a couple of ponies in their back yard with a small barn.  We rode the ponies now and then, but I was always scared, which I think embarassed my dad (Wilma’s brother) and he would fuss at me.  I was afraid because they would cut short around a fence w/post that divided the grassy area down the center of the field and pinch my leg on that post, going back to the barn!  But, I know my cousins loved their ponies  and Barry even had some awesome toy horses too, that were GI Joe size with cowboys and indians.



I felt it imperative to be accurate as possible, to bring back those fun and adventerous memories.  Only, I couldn’t really remember the barn/stall structure, but it did have a coregated metal roof,  but you can see from my sketch, I just couldn’t work it out from my lack of drawing skills, so I had to go with  shingles  instead.  I cut a piece of watercolor paper thinking I would water color with my Crayola  washable markers, but I wanted quick and simple, which ended up being copic coloring. 



I started by drawing the barn roof and poles with pencil and then stamped the 2 horses  from Inkadinkado’s Horses set #995440 in Memento black ink (I love these horses, they are very realistic).  I drew the gate around the standing horse. I used the (tall grasses image) from Stampin’UP!  Wetlands clear  mount set #1126697  (for my weeds) and doodled in some extra grass and pebbly bits with a Black Sharpie fine point marker.   And colored everything in with Copic markers.

I’ve accidentally deleted the whole picture..

Leave a Reply

