GO CARDS, Day 19 Kathy Rac 30 Day Color Challenge 2

Hey Crafters!!  It’s Day 19 in Kathy Racoosin’s 30 Day Color Challenge 2, and she did a Bold Background.  

We were going to the Springfield, Missouri Cardinals baseball game, this evening and I couldn’t find my Cardinal’s T-shirt or my hat.  And Millie didn’t have a shirt either.  I made us some lapel pins to wear!  

 This was actually the 2nd one..  I used a wide range of Copics in the Reds and Oranges.  If you just keep tweaking, it just keeps getting better!     
This was the 1st one.   I did enhance the black area of the face quite a bit because it just was not natural  looking to me.  This was done with a Sharpie fine line marker and cross hatched to fill in that space of the original face, plus my own addition to it.   

 
This is what the 1st one looked like when I thought I was done coloring it.  LOL  As, I used it for a guide to color the second one, I realised how weak it was.  My projects always evolve  as I’m making them.  I think it’s part of what facinates me in this craft!    I’d already chopped the white space down around my birds before realizing I needed to stamp, Cardinals.  So, I cut around them leaving a white margin and die cut the blue bases.  The shirt and hat I couldn’t find are a nice sky blue with rred birds and that was my inspiration for the blue base.   No room for the whole word Cardinals, GO CARDS was the next best thing.

The birds were slightly glued to the blue bases  and then stamped GO CARDS, then heat  laminated, and sanded across the back with a stringent finger nail file  so the slick lamination would take the Lapel Pin that I glued there with some E6000 glue.  I finished making them at about 3pm and we didn’t put them on until we were to the ball park.   (I love this glue, but protect yourself from breathing it or getting it on your hands) 

  
Supplies:  

Heavy Weight white card stock by, The Paper Studio (from Hobby Lobby).

Dies:  Stampin’UP!  Frameelits – Labels Collection (125598)  (for blue base)  

Stamps:  Martha Stewart/EK Success Bird stamps  MA331034 and MS Clear Monograms Frames M3310223  (oh how I wish there were more than one of each letter).   A spare baseball from a previous project, Baseball stamp set by Karen Foster 02228. 

Copics  & Bics in Reds, Oranges, Browns, Greens & Yellows, Gray, Purple & Blender. See photo of the markers, it’s been a full week of having my babies and cleaning for family that have decided not to stay.

Inspiration from my bird book, A Natural History of American Birds of Eastern and Central North America, to color the male cardinal.

Leave a Reply

