Kathy Rac’s 30 Day, Feb 2 2016 Distress Ink Blending

Hey Crafters!!  Today Kathy made an amazing interactive card with some fun laundry stamps, birds and a yoga girl. There was a hop today with some discount codes for a couple of online card classes and a give away… See her post here.

I went off the grid.  Any surprise there?  LOL  I did some ink blending, but it didn’t turn out quite like Jennifer McGuires in the hop.  And it’s not my best work, but I’m sharing it anyway, because it IS what I colored today even tho I’m posting quite late! 

image

This is the finished card and my stamping got a bit cray cray.  But in the midst of trying to download photos from my ipad2 since it’s too full to move any edited videos to iphoto, I had to move photos and videos I’m not done with yet to my computer and or my Seagate mass storage USB.  Ahem…  and watched the hop and made my card all at the same time.

image

I stamped my little birds from Lawn Fawn’s Science of Love stamp set first.  Then stamped them again on post it note tap and cut them out for masks.  Stamped the large glasses from Simon Says Stamp set called, I See You SSS101568.  Then filled in with smaller glasses from Heidi Swapp stamp set HS01132, just where ever I felt I could get away with them.  How’s that for a stamping technique?  Using Tim Holtz Distress Inks in mermaid lagoon, then peeled paint, then fossilized amber, sponged inks over the card and masks with the distress tool with felt. 

image

Removed the masks and was hoping to get by without coloring my birds, like Jennifer did on some of her cards today!  But it just wasn’t going to happen, they looked too blank for Me.  And I colored them with Copics:  Y18, Y17, YR68, R14, B32, B0000, G07, G99.

image

My green bird is too dark, I probably should have gone with G06 and G07, but I was afraid she would be too light and not contrast with the peeled paint distress ink.  Ah well…I had some crazy smudging going on too, since I used Memento ink for my masks!  It does not dry readily.  I should have used Archival.  Ho Hum…  I will still give this card to my honey and he will enjoy it.  😉

2 thoughts on “Kathy Rac’s 30 Day, Feb 2 2016 Distress Ink Blending

Leave a Reply

