Kathy Rac’s 30 Day 2-12-16 Colored Pencils

Hey Crafters!!  It’s day 12 of Kathy Racoosin’s 30 Day Color Challenge.  She did some Amazing copic coloring today, especially shading on the new little chef’s from MFT.

  
I chose to stamp an image called Etched Flowers SCQ430, by Hero Arts.  Kathy sent me this stamp in a fantastic blog candy during Stamptember 2012 and I don’t think I’ve ever used it.  That is another thing I would like to accomplish during this 30 Day Color Challenge and use stamps and dies she sent me.  One of the great things about blog candies, is you are given things you wouldn’t  always choose for yourself.  It’s another opportunity to grow as a crafter or artist or both!  

I’m trying a technique that Jennifer McGuire did recently.  It’s called white highlighting with a white colored pencil on colored card stock.  Go to her blog and watch her video.  My video is long and boring, so I’m not going to post it.  This was not a good technique for Me and perhaps that is because I only have kid’s colored pencils that are 15-20 years old as I don’t throw things away.  I need to invest in some Artist grade pencils.  I also felt my card was too Void of color, which is something I struggle with All the time as a crafter.  It’s very frustrating to me and I couldn’t leave well enough alone.  I added colored pencils to my image and that didn’t fly.  I added copic markers to my image and still didn’t feel done.  Ultimately, I doodled on the whole image with a fine point black Sharpie and decided I was done.  LOL. 

  
The whole image was traced and shaded with a white Crayola Pencil.  It felt empty and I started by outlining the image with brown, pink, gray and light blue.  Then I started filling in the petals with pink, orange and red with brown in the centers of the flowers.  Dark green blue and yellow on the leaves and still wasn’t happy with it!  Grabbed  theC4 Gray and went around the whole image, nope! Grabbed the No. 0 Gray and softened that.  Nada…  Grabbed R59 or R56 or both!  And added some shadows to the petals of the flowers.  Eh, not really working for Me either.  Finished by doodling all around the image with a fine point black Sharpie marker and FINALLY it feels complete.  It was a very long process and I thought, Why didn’t I just leave it white?  

Supplies:

Heavy Weight Colored Card stock by the Paper Studio (Hobby Lobby) cut and scored into a n A2 sized 

card base (4 1/4″x5 1/2″).

Stampin’UP! Craft ink in Whisper White (pigment ink), stamped and dried with a heat tool.

Crayola colored pencils, Copics, Fine point black Sharpie marker.

Leave a Reply

