Wild Indian Mar 2016

Hey Crafters!!  I hope you’re all having a great Spring.  S.W. Missouri is sunny, rainy and warm this year and it’s  Welcomed with open arms compared to our usual 6 more weeks of Winter!  LOL

Today I’m sharing this birthday card for my grand baby who just turned 1.  

.;.;p.;; 
It was a rushed card.  Can you tell?  Oye!  I’m talking down to the wire, 30 minutes until the party starts and I’m still gluing things down!  I’d already planned it ahead of time in my mind.  Then,just ended up a very busy Nana and made it an hour before the party, which was not enough time.  I was going to add a couple more Indians or maybe a cowboy peeking in from the edges of the card.  A bow and arrow would have been nice, but I’d only die cut the stick horse.  Thankfully I’d die cut the body and already colored it at another sitting, some cowboy boots and hat, but not enough time to dress a cowboy!

I have most of the Sizzix Dress Up Doll dies and accessory dies like clothes, hair, occupations, children themes, etc.  I’ve spent years collecting them on sale. 😉    The matching face stamps are fun too since the Sizzix doll has a flat face.  And I often mix and match them with the clothes from the Quickutz Dress Up Dolls.  They don’t match perfectly, but I make do when I’m creating a specific character that I don’t have the clothes for.  The dolls arms are positioned differently and the QK clothes are a bit smaller for the Sizzix doll, but I can usually trim the body down or trim the clothes/shoes, etc. and make them work.  

My card was inspired by this beautiful invitation made by the Petunia Tree Boutique and Paperie.  When I get things a week or two before the event, it’s nice to just mull them over in my mind for a few days deciding which direction to take.  I knew I would make an Indian (easy enough to mimic Indian clothes. With some strategic scissor cuts) and fun to use a little bit of my native blood to soar on this one.  ;).   I just wish I’d had time to doodle on the sky, and background.  Thankfully most of my die cutting was already done.  

  
It’s a beautiful matte card stock (maybe professional matte photo paper?)  Etsy company below.  I have no idea what Amber paid for these but they really are gorgeous.  Here is what is printed on the back if you’re interested in further investigation. 😉

   
Sizzix Dies and Stamps:

Dress Ups Body, Dress Ups Cowboy Accessories (stick horse), Dress Ups Boy Hair and Dress Ups Faces stamps by Stu Kilgour 655666.

Misc. Dies:

Quickutz Pirate Costume REV-1-1-0078 (pants, shirt, shoes and bandana used as a loin cloth).  Sleeves of the shirt were cut off above the elbow and switched to the opposite arm and repositioned with glue.   Shirt, loin cloth and cuffs of pants were all fringed with fine point scissors.   Should have fringed the cuffs of the shirt too…

Spellbinders Media Mixage Triangles One die set using the Large and middle dies for Tee Pees, tent flap was cut with scissors and folded back, an extra scrap of card stock was glued behind the opening.

Pretty Pink Posh Stitched Borders 2, scalloped shape used as sky-clouds.  Stitched Borders 1, hill used as background.

Lawn Fawn Stitched Hillside Borders, curvy hill for the background.  

Copics were used to doodle on many of these die cuts, plus a fine point Sharpie black marker for the stick horse mane and eye details.  Glued a scrap piece of card stock behind the eye since it cuts out and falls away.  I really need to alter this die and take out most of the detail blades, just didn’t have time!

Simon Says Stamp sentiment from Big Birthday Wishes SSS 101521 (April 2015 Card kit).

Leave a Reply

