Snowman Magnets

Hi Crafters! Don’t you love these flattened marble magnets? I see them in many stores. I needed some quick girlie gifts to add with my corn bags for Christmas that I already had the supplies for. Something quick and easy as I’m baby sitting my sweet grand baby on a daily basis and we are cutting teeth. I did have to buy magnets that would hold the weight of the glass.

20130131-141400.jpg

I stamped both snowman faces from Papertrey Ink’s Signature Series Shape Up Snowman stamp set in Ranger’s Archival Black ink, then punched them out with 2 different circle punches, one was 1 3/4″ and the other was 1″. These 2 fit my flattened marbles best and I did have to trim excess card stock away from the edges on a few of them. The small snowflake from this stamp set was used as cheeks, stamped in Stampin’ Up Tempting Turquoise and the punched faces were also sponged with this ink too. There is a nose stamp in this set, but I can not seem to hit the mark, so I simply colored them in with some Crayola washable markers. You can see most of this in the short video.

*Crafting Note: My crafting has to be done in several sittings, as I’m baby sitting our sweet grand baby. I found it best to let the inks dry well before adhering the faces to the flatten marbles with Glossy Accents, otherwise it will smear the SU dye based ink and the Crayola washable marker. If you don’t have time for this step, you could use your heat tool to dry the inks. I layed the punched faces on my non-stick craft sheet and added the Glossy Accents directly to them, applied the marble and moved it all around watching the glue make contact with the whole marble, then settled it in place where it fit best for each one. Glossy Accents sets up pretty quick and I added the magnets before bed and they were done and ready to go by morning. To clean up my non stick mat, I scraped the extra glue off with the edge of an old gift card.

I was unable to find more of these clear flat marbles, you make check at Michael’s or Hobby Lobby, but Wal-mart is no longer carrying the large ones nor did Target have them. So, I ended up relying on my craft stash and used some clear star shaped marbles to get more mileage out of my snowman faces. I have limited star options between a small punch and two small dies of a single star. The Cuttlebug Disney Christmas die fit best with the star shaped glass pieces. I used 3 different snowflake stamps mentioned in the video. I cut the button magnets in half for the stars, using a heavy duty box cutter. Be careful, it took a lot of elbow grease and it marred the edge of my Martha Stewart rotary cutting mat.

Enjoy! Snowman Magnet Video

I used the SU Matchbox Die by Sizzix to package my sweet little snowman gifts in, which worked perfectly. And tulle from JoAnn’s Fabrics, tied the boxes shut so sweetly.

20130131-141623.jpg

Leave a Reply

