Kathy Rac’s 30 Day Color Challenge 1-15-2017

Hey Crafters!! It’s time for some fun coloring over at Kathy Racooson’s 30 Day Color Challenge Day 1 Whoop Whoop!!

Today she is using Bic Mark It alcohol markers. You know, I colored with them for years before getting into Copics. The cool thing about alcohol markers is that they will all work with each other and a blender solution.

I am playing with my new Jane Davenport aqua pastels for these well images from Stampendous called, P195 Wishing Well.

Are you playing in Kathy’s Challenge?

Day 1. Sharpie Markers How To

Here I am coloring at work on the lunch hour! I will stamp at home and bring my images with me. The Jane Davenport aqua pastels are so vivid. My tin does not have chocolate brown or black and I was just thinking if I mixed enough colors together I would get brown? My first instincts were to just use blue for the roof and inside the well. Well….that didn’t look right and I have to use blue and purple for some of the stones trying to get them darker. I’m not thrilled with these, but I’m sure when I look at them again in 6 months, they won’t look too bad. LOL.

Ultimately, I ended up going back and adding more shadows under and around the roof. I also added shadows around the vines on the roof, the ledge of the well, near the flower pot and inside the well. I did this with a black Crayola washable kid’s marker (scribbled onto a slick surface and picked up with my aqua painter-paint brush).

I may come back at a later date and doodle on them with Precise V5 fine point black pen by Pilot (from Wal-Mart Super Center). And put my name on them. They will be great for my card gift giving and in a pinch when I don’t have time to color.

I have this need to fill things in and often feel trapped by this particular nature of mine to FILL IN SPACE. When I go to other blogs, I enjoy those who can color in a sparse manor. I think it would be liberating to do so!

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you’re having a great week and make time to color!

Supplies used:

Canson Water Color Paper 140 lb (Wal-mart Super Center) I like the 9 x 12 ” pad.

Jane Davenport Aqua Pastels

Wood Mount Stamp P195 Wishing Well by Stampendous (from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store)

Pentel Aqua Painter Small and Large

Crayola or Cra-Z-art Black washable kids marker

Leave a comment