August 2015 Name Tags

Hey Crafters!!  Well, by this time each year, I’m ready to put some flowers on the August tag, but I thought  this adorable Cat, by Penny Black, would be perfect since it’s back to school season.   (Pop over to my blog for the video at the bottom of this post)  I’m not sure why the videos are not showing up in the email posts to my subscribers or the YouTube videos that are no longer active in the emails I get from crafters around the web… (It only took Google 3.5 hours to process my video…really?)  Probably has something to do with editing it with iMovie.  If YouTube worked like it used to before Google took over and if the “Google” Capture app worked great, I wouldn’t have purchased iMovie.  Why can’t the tech people all play nice together, does it really have to be rocket science?  LOL  Just sayin’!!

 -In this 20 minute edited video, I talk about mixing red and green on the apple to get a brown to burgundy color.  I learned this trick a couple of years ago at an acrylic painting class.  Did you know you can mix any 2 compimentary colors to dull them down and still be in balance within your paintings!?!  I’d never even imagined such a thing!  I’ve been playing with paint for years and have always mixed 2 colors together to get other colors, or a specific shade of a color, but it’s been very generic.  We all learned how to mix primary colors in grade school, to get green or orange, purple, etc.  I’m ecstatic at this news!  I’ve got to find my color wheel!!  See what happens when you take an adult class, you learn Tips and Tricks and that is half of doing ANYTHING good…….the rest is luck, skill/practice or talent. 

-I also discuss utilizing the really Pale Copic colors for blending your darkers colors.  You’re bound to end up with a few pale markers that are similar to each other since the color guides online are not always the color you end up with in your hand.  This is a great use for those!  But USE what You Have.  I colored with Bic Mark Its for several years before investing in Copics and thoroughly Enjoyed them…  

 *Remember to PLAY and have fun*

I completely forgot to stamp the month of Aug. on the name tags.  And I’m sorry they are late.  

Anyhoo…I hope you have some crafting time!  I would love to hear what you’ve been up to.  Have a Great Day!

Supplies:

Heavy White Card Stock by The Paper Studio (from Hobby Lobby).

Memento Tux. Black ink.

Stamp:  Penny Black, Back to School (Cat), 4217H.

Copics:  E51, E93, E99.  Rv55, RV52.  No. 0 Gray, C4, R29, YG06, YG25, G07.

Bics:  Misty Blue and Tiki Hut Tan

One thought on “August 2015 Name Tags

  1. […] Visit this post At Simon Says Stamp for the tutorial I mentioned in my video!  I liked to have never found it, but Sandy Allnock referenced it at the end of one of her videos and said it was on the SSS blog.  “Whew!”  I’m so glad I found it.  She has taken some new Copic courses and changed the way she does skin tone, but I thought this was so interesting, where she used blues or Violet’s for the shadows in some skin tones.  It’s almost as cool as mixing 2 complimentary colors and getting a whole new muted color, which I discussed in May 2015 Tag tutorial Here. […]

Leave a Reply

