Kathy Rac’s 30 Day Color Challenge 1-22-18 Water Color

Hey Crafters!! Today Kathy Altering a Holiday Stamped image , but I had this Red Rubber elephant and Stampin’UP! Zebra already stamped in my Canson 5.5 x 8 inch sketch book from Wal-Mart and I wanted to see if I could water color them.

I really wanted to go outside of my “Traditional Zone” and use some funky colors, like purple on the elephant and blue on the zebra, BUT in the end, I had to go back and dull everything down with some gray! It’s very hard for me to do non traditional, but I enjoy it so much when visiting other blogs.

They were a hot mess until I came back in with a Precision V5 fine point black pen (from Wal-mart) and drew on them. LOL. I love doing that! The results are so cool. And it just makes the image pop. You can do a similar thing if you leave your stamps in a stamping tool and just stamp over the images again. I faked this tree which is a bit sad, it was sketched in with a #2 pencil first, then added some water colors and let that dry, then doodled with Precision V5 pen.

These images were stamped in Memento Tuxedo Black ink mid September, so they have had time to cure well and the water didn’t seem to affect them very much. Normally I would stamp these in a permanent ink like Ranger Archival Jet Black or StazOn. I had not planned the tree, but after the animals were colored they looked odd and I said to myself, an elephant and a zebra would Pro a ally not be this close to each other. I used the aqua painter to dab light green leaves and let them dry. Then dabbed dark green leaves and let them dry. Then used a fan brush to tap, tap, tap those wispy looking bits all over the dried leaves and extending away from the edges of the branches and leaves. I used a big scrub brush to blob in the bushes around the animals and the fan brush over the top of that. The bushes never quite got where I was trying to go with them! LOL. So, I called it good and doodled on the animals, the tree and added extra grasses.

My “water colors” are from Crayola Washable Kid’s markers and Marvy Markers scribbled onto a paint pallet and picked up there with a wet aqua painter. I use Pentel Aquash in large and small. I love these water brushes, they don’t leak and they supply water to the brush tip without dripping. They travel well too!

Thanks for stopping by! Have a Great Week!

One thought on “Kathy Rac’s 30 Day Color Challenge 1-22-18 Water Color

Leave a comment